2013 Human Rights Award Winners

Recipients to Be Honored 
at the Oklahoma State Capitol
on Tuesday, December 10th 

We’re pleased to share the winners of this year’s Human Rights Award, as announced by the Oklahoma Universal Human Rights Alliance (Chair, Wallace Collins).

The 2013 recipients are:

Father Don Wolf

Father Don WolfParish priest and advocate for immigration reform.

R.L. Doyle … Juvenile justice advocate and chair of the OKC Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday Coalition.

Nathaniel Batchelder … Director of Oklahoma City’s Peace House.

Mary Francis

Mary Francis … Grassroots activist with widespread interests including voting rights, community radio, children & families, and more.

Jody Harlan … Champion for people with disabilities, environmental justice and the humane treatment of animals. She is a recipient of the OKC Disability Award given by the Oklahoma City Mayor’s Committee on Disability Concerns.

Rey Madrid

Rey Madrid … A youth development professional with the Eagle Ridge Institute of Oklahoma City.

Ted Metscher … Former teacher and former president of the OKC chapter of the American Federation of Teachers.

Amber Bighorse … After studying human rights law in South Africa and at Oklahoma City University, Amber Bighorse has gone on to advance the cause of human rights through her service to the people of the Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma (as a staff attorney and Lieutenant Governor). She is an advocate for marriage equality.

Amber Bighorse

Rev. Milton Combs … Civil rights and human rights advocate from Oklahoma City.

“All these distinguished individuals have long track records in Human and Civil Rights. Join us in honoring them.” 
–Wilfredo Santosrivera,
Alliance Member

The presentation of the 2013 awards will take place at the Oklahoma State Capitol on International Human Rights Day — Tuesday, December 10th. The program will commence at 10 am in the chamber of the House of Representatives, followed by lunch in the 4th Floor Rotunda.

To enjoy lunch with the honorees and their guests, please RSVP for your reservation as soon as possible. Call Wil Rivera at (405) 631-3027.

Our chapter of the UN Association will provide free copies of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights to everyone who attends — while supplies last.

2 thoughts on “2013 Human Rights Award Winners

  1. Mary Alice Francis, Well Deserved, Worked for and Earned. I am proud of You. So is our Family, Your Nephew and Great Nephews. I wish that we could be there with You, and be at the luncheon. Please Know that in my heart I will be there. Thank You for Sharing this. I am proud and I know that each and every person here as worked and works tirelessly and with great passion. Thank You for what you do. Sincerely, Catherine Punton Wilson.


  2. Thank you Catherine! I have to say how I admire you and your work with suicide prevention… a wonderful project and such a difficult subject. There are many worthy acts and people in the world and you are one of them.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s